The Civil Registration and Vital Statistics Digitisation Guidebook (CRVS­DGB), commissioned by the African Development Bank (AfDB), provides guidance to countries on digitizing CRVS systems. The step-­by-­step guide shows how to plan, analyze, design and implement a comprehensive digitized CRVS system. It offers a sequence of activities with supplemental templates and examples to support users. This resource offers guidance to a broad range of stakeholders committed to strengthening the delivery of CRVS services.



To make everyone count through universal registration of vital events, countries in Africa have received information and communications technology investments in vital CRVS. Through the provision of legal documentation of civil registration, citizens will be able to claim identity and civil status, and ensure their rights. These systems will make it possible to produce accurate, complete and timely vital statistics. Countries in Africa have expressed a need to develop effective, scalable and sustainable CRVS systems. AfDB has responded to this need by commissioning the CRVS­DGB for the African Programme on Accelerated Improvement of CRVS.

The CRVS­DGB was developed jointly by Plan International and Jembi Health Systems, in collaboration with country experts across Africa. As countries contribute re­usable assets and case studies based on their experiences, the guidebook will continue to grow and expand as a living resource. It exists online alongside additional documents providing complementary and supporting guidance. This guidebook should also be used in conjunction with the development of a national CRVS strategic plan and work program.

To find out more, please go to the CRVS­DGB website.


For more information about CRVS­DGB, please contact the guidebook curators at curator@crvs­ or fill out this contact form.


Contributing Partners

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
Multilateral Organization
Established by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa's (ECA) mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member states, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

This Resource Works to Achieve These SDGs